Here's the Name of Every Senator Who Voted Against Net Neutrality—and When to Vote Them Out

Photo: Getty

A stunning factor occurred on Wednesday: The Senate did one thing good.

Not solely did it move a decision to save net neutrality however extra Republicans than anticipated really voted in favor of the decision. But there have been nonetheless plenty of senators who disagree with the overwhelming majority of their constituents, and I suppose they don’t care.

If you keep in mind any title from the vote immediately, keep in mind Senator John Thune from South Dakota. Thune actually didn’t wish to reverse the FCC’s repeal of the 2015 Open Internet Order. While many senators aren’t all that involved about whether or not internet site visitors is handled equally—Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell expressed his opposition to internet neutrality on the ground immediately, for instance, however he principally talked in regards to the unrelated matter of regulatory burdens on craft distilleries.—Thune was a person on a mission.

The senator spoke at size on the subject at hand, and he got here armed with a brand new model of his faux internet neutrality invoice. He bought up early and wrote an op-ed for CNBC. He pleaded along with his colleagues to contemplate his “bipartisan” laws as an alternative of reinstating the principles that labored simply high-quality. The invoice that was doubtless written by the identical telecom lobbyists that pay Thune a lot of money, and it was so extremely bipartisan that no Democrat sided with him immediately.

Not all Republicans did the unsuitable factor immediately, although. Senators Lisa Murkowski, Susan Collins, and John Kennedy all determined to agree with the 86 percent of Americans who not too long ago instructed pollsters they like internet neutrality the best way it’s.

Below you’ll discover all of the Senators who didn’t actually care what the voters suppose, together with their re-election dates. You may nonetheless drop them a line and alter their minds. The House also still has to vote, and it might be nice in the event that they heard from their Senate counterparts that individuals actually care about this challenge. And if that doesn’t work, bookmark this web page for assessment earlier than you head to the poll field over the following few elections.

The Turds Who Are Up For Re-election in 2018 and Would Appreciate a Phone Call

Mississippi: Roger Wicker

Nebraska: Deb Fischer

Nevada: Dean Heller

Texas: Ted Cruz

Wyoming: John Barrasso

The Turds Who Are Retiring Like Cowards

Arizona: Jeff Flake

Tennessee: Bob Corker

Utah: Orrin Hatch

The Turds Who Are Up For Re-election in 2020 and Would Really Benefit From a Sternly Worded Letter

Alaska: Dan Sullivan

Arkansas: Tom Cotton

Colorado: Cory Gardner

Georgia: David Perdue

Idaho: James E. Risch

Iowa: Joni Ernst

Kansas: Pat Roberts

Kentucky: Mitch McConnell

Louisiana: Bill Cassidy

Mississippi: Cindy Hyde-Smith

Montana: Steve Daines

Nebraska: Ben Sasse

North Carolina: Thom Tillis

Oklahoma: Jim Inhofe

South Carolina: Lindsey Graham

South Dakota: Mike Rounds

Tennessee: Lamar Alexander

Texas: John Cornyn

West Virginia: Shelley Moore Capito

Wyoming: Mike Enzi

The Turds Who Are Up For Reelection in 2022 and Would Rather You Not Set a Reminder Right This Second

Alabama: Richard Shelby

Arkansas: John Boozman

Florida: Marco Rubio

Georgia: Johnny Isakson

Idaho: Mike Crapo

Indiana: Todd Young

Iowa: Chuck Grassley

Kansas: Jerry Moran

Kentucky: Rand Paul

Missouri: Roy Blunt

North Carolina: Richard Burr

North Dakota: John Hoeven

Ohio: Rob Portman

Oklahoma: James Lankford

Pennsylvania: Pat Toomey

South Carolina: Tim Scott

South Dakota: John Thune

Utah: Mike Lee

Wisconsin: Ron Johnson

Source link

allofit Author

Leave a Reply